1500 - 1800

What used to be the major spots of the European markets for art in the 18th c. ? Who were their players ? What professional and kinship networks were they part of ? In the age of Enlightenment, where were dealers of paintings located in Paris ? On the Pont Notre Dame, what was business activity like ? And what about the shop of its most notable resident, François-Edmé Gersaint ?

The database and the visualization applications you will find on this website want to show in a new, innovative way the outcome of research led by a team of researchers who pondered these questions, among others, as part of the project Art Markets in Europe. Emergence, Development, Networks, 1500-1800, supported by the ANR.

FR | EN

Partners

The project Marchés de l’art en Europe was supported by the Agence Nationale de la Recherche (Programme blanc), the Partner University Fund for the Face Foundation (Washington DC) and the Université de Lille.
ANR     puf-rgb   FACE_LOGOhalf-grey       Univ-Lille3

The project Sur le Pont Notre Dame au temps de Watteau was awarded a grant by the Fonds Expériences Interactive de Pictanovo (Image Community in Nord-Pas de Calais). It was partly state funded via the Agence Nationale de Recherche, within the programme « Investissements d’avenir » (reference ANR-11-EQPX-0023). It was also supported by the programme Sciences et Cultures du Visuel (Cluster iCAVS and Equipex IrDIVE) and the FEDER.
The project benefits from a partnership with the Musée Carnavalet – Histoire de Paris (Paris Musées).

1500 - 1800

Quels étaient les grands centres du marché de l’art en Europe au 18e siècle ? Qui en étaient les acteurs ? Dans quels réseaux professionnels et familiaux ces derniers s’inscrivaient-ils ? Où étaient situés les marchands de tableaux à Paris au siècle des Lumières ? A quoi ressemblait l’activité du marchande du Pont Notre Dame et la boutique de son plus célèbre occupant, François-Edmé Gersaint ?

La base de données et les applications de visualisation proposées ici visent à restituer sous une forme inédite les résultats d’une équipe de chercheurs qui se sont penchés – entre autres – sur ces questions, dans le cadre du projet Art Markets in Europe. Emergence, Development, Networks, 1500-1800, soutenu par l’ANR.

FR | EN

Partenaires

Le projet Marchés de l’art en Europe a bénéficié du soutien de l’Agence Nationale de la Recherche (Programme blanc), du Partner University Fund de la Face Foundation (Washington DC) et de l’Université de Lille.

ANR     puf-rgb   FACE_LOGOhalf-grey       Univ-Lille3

Le projet Sur le pont Notre-Dame au temps de Watteau est lauréat du Fonds Expériences Interactive de Pictanovo (la Communauté de l’Image en Nord- Pas de Calais). Il a bénéficié d’une aide de l’État gérée par l’Agence Nationale de Recherche au titre du programme « Investissements d’avenir » portant la référence ANR-11-EQPX-0023 ». Il a été également soutenu par le programme Sciences et Cultures du Visuel (Cluster iCAVS et Equipex IrDIVE) et par le FEDER.

Pictanovo PIA FEDER-1  SCV iCAVS IrDIVE

Il bénéficie d’un partenariat avec le Musée Carnavalet – Histoire de Paris (Paris Musées)

Musée-Carnavalet1  Paris-musees