1500 - 1800

What used to be the major spots of the European markets for art in the 18th c. ? Who were their players ? What professional and kinship networks were they part of ? In the age of Enlightenment, where were dealers of paintings located in Paris ? On the Pont Notre Dame, what was business activity like ? And what about the shop of its most notable resident, François-Edmé Gersaint ?

The database and the visualization applications you will find on this website want to show in a new, innovative way the outcome of research led by a team of researchers who pondered these questions, among others, as part of the project Art Markets in Europe. Emergence, Development, Networks, 1500-1800, supported by the ANR.

FR | EN

335 000 paintings sold at public auctions in Europe during the 18th century

Using as a starting point more than 335 000 painting lots recorded in about 3 200 public auction catalogues, this application enables us to track the evolution of flows of paintings sold at public auctions in 64 European cities (in Germany, Belgium, France, Netherlands, Scandinavia). By activating the timeline view, one can compare this evolution over the course of the century, sorting the data by city, decade, or cumulated value.

Three cities stand out : Amsterdam, London and Paris amount together to 75% of the sales total, and 66% of the overall volume of paintings exchanged in Northern Europe.
For more than fifty years, until the end of the 1750s, Amsterdam remains prominent in public sales of pictures in Europe, while London stands second with half Amsterdam’s volume of sales, Paris lagging behind on the European level.

From the 1760s onwards, the pace of public sales steadily increases in all European cities, and suddenly the trend reverses : London emerges as the first European spot for the art trade, while Amsterdam now ranks number 3. As for Paris, its role will grow until it ranks second behind London.

What’s more, the visualization clearly shows the critical role played by German cities such as Hamburg and Frankfurt from the 1780s onwards. It also makes us ponder the concentration of sales in the Netherlandish area where in a rather small territory, the cities of the Hague, Middleburg, Leyden and Rotterdam did contribute — though not reaching up to Amsterdam’s levels — to the sustained market activity of the Republic of Holland.

1500 - 1800

Quels étaient les grands centres du marché de l’art en Europe au 18e siècle ? Qui en étaient les acteurs ? Dans quels réseaux professionnels et familiaux ces derniers s’inscrivaient-ils ? Où étaient situés les marchands de tableaux à Paris au siècle des Lumières ? A quoi ressemblait l’activité du marchande du Pont Notre Dame et la boutique de son plus célèbre occupant, François-Edmé Gersaint ?

La base de données et les applications de visualisation proposées ici visent à restituer sous une forme inédite les résultats d’une équipe de chercheurs qui se sont penchés – entre autres – sur ces questions, dans le cadre du projet Art Markets in Europe. Emergence, Development, Networks, 1500-1800, soutenu par l’ANR.

FR | EN

335 000 tableaux passés en ventes publiques en Europe au 18e siècle

À partir de plus de 335 000 lots de peintures répertoriés dans près de 3 200 catalogues de ventes publiques, cette application permet de suivre l’évolution du volume des tableaux passés en ventes publiques dans 64 de villes d’Europe (Allemagne, Belgique, France, Pays-Bas et Scandinavie). L’activation de la timeline permet de comparer l’évolution par villes au fil du siècle, par années, par décennies ou en valeur cumulée.

Trois villes se détachent nettement de l’ensemble – Amsterdam, Londres et Paris – qui à elle seules totalisent 75 % des ventes et 66 % du volume des tableaux échangés en Europe du Nord.

Il apparaît nettement que jusqu’à la fin des années 1750, Amsterdam a dominé pendant plus d’un demi siècle le secteur des ventes publiques de tableaux en Europe, tandis que Londres, occupait la seconde place avec un nombre inférieur de moitié à celui d’Amsterdam, suivie de loin par Paris, très en retrait à l’échelon européen.

À partir des années 1760, la fréquence des ventes publiques augmente très sensiblement dans toutes les villes d’Europe et la tendance s’inverse brutalement : Londres s’impose définitivement comme le premier centre européen des ventes d’art, tandis qu’Amsterdam recule à la troisième place. Quant à Paris, elle verra son rôle s’amplifier pour occuper le second rang après Londres.

La visualisation fait également apparaître le rôle non négligeable que jouent les villes allemandes de Hambourg et de Francfort à partir des années 1780. Elle permet de ne pas perdre de vue la concentration des ventes sur le territoire hollandais où dans un périmètre géographique réduit les villes de La Haye, Middelbourg, Leyde, Rotterdam ont contribué sensiblement – sans atteindre le niveau d’Amsterdam – à l’activité soutenue du marché dans la République hollandaise.