1500 - 1800

What used to be the major spots of the European markets for art in the 18th c. ? Who were their players ? What professional and kinship networks were they part of ? In the age of Enlightenment, where were dealers of paintings located in Paris ? On the Pont Notre Dame, what was business activity like ? And what about the shop of its most notable resident, François-Edmé Gersaint ?

The database and the visualization applications you will find on this website want to show in a new, innovative way the outcome of research led by a team of researchers who pondered these questions, among others, as part of the project Art Markets in Europe. Emergence, Development, Networks, 1500-1800, supported by the ANR.

FR | EN

The pont Notre-Dame and Gersaint’s shop c. 1720

Like most bridges of the old Paris, until the end of the Ancien Régime, the Pont Notre-Dame looked very different from what we can see of it today. Since the beginning of the 16th c., the bridge was lined with 64 look-alike houses, devoted to the trade of goods.

A major connection link between the Quai de Gesvres and the Ile de la Cité, the Pont Notre Dame was a lively and well-visited place which importance in the history of art trade deserves close attention.

Using the database put together by Mickaël Szanto, an application was implemented in order to visualize the localization of dealers of paintings from the 17th century up to the moment the townhouses were brought down in 1786. A simple graphic rendering coupled with a timeline enables us to follow the representativity of this type of dealers among the shops located on the bridge. The visualization shows the highlights and lowpoints in the gradual concentration of dealers of paintings, in keeping with a deep transformation of the Parisian market.

Another approach, favouring photorealistic computer-generated images, enables us to offer a reconstruction of the bridge’s appearance around 1720, piecing together a wide range of iconographic and archival evidence. Such modelling wanted to give sense to the spaces, volumes and materials of this lost architecture. More specifically, the inner view of the bridge required a patient and thorough investigation of the sources to recreate the sensory impression of a busy shopping street lined with two rows of look-alike townhouses hiding the Seine. The year 1720 was chosen for two reasons. For one thing, it is under the Régence that the number of dealers of paintings established on the bridge reached its highest point. What’s more, it is the year that Antoine Watteau painted the famous Enseigne de Gersaint (now kept in Berlin, Schloß Charlottenburg).

Established in the 35th house of the Pont Notre-Dame between 1718 and 1744, Edme-François Gersaint was a young marchand-mercier in 1720, but soon to become the most innovative dealer of paintings of his time. But when Watteau painted l’Enseigne, what was this space, devoted to the exhibition and selling of paintings really like ? Unlike the idealized vision displayed by this rather atypical painting, archival evidence suggest that the space was shallow (12m2), dark and cluttered with items. Computer generated images were the best way to get a better sense of this discrepancy. This tentative reconstruction is mostly based on the inventory established in 1725 after Gersaint’s first wife died. It allows for both a completely new set of hypothesis regarding the place and function of this sign painting, and a better appreciation of its unique and visionary quality.

1500 - 1800

Quels étaient les grands centres du marché de l’art en Europe au 18e siècle ? Qui en étaient les acteurs ? Dans quels réseaux professionnels et familiaux ces derniers s’inscrivaient-ils ? Où étaient situés les marchands de tableaux à Paris au siècle des Lumières ? A quoi ressemblait l’activité du marchande du Pont Notre Dame et la boutique de son plus célèbre occupant, François-Edmé Gersaint ?

La base de données et les applications de visualisation proposées ici visent à restituer sous une forme inédite les résultats d’une équipe de chercheurs qui se sont penchés – entre autres – sur ces questions, dans le cadre du projet Art Markets in Europe. Emergence, Development, Networks, 1500-1800, soutenu par l’ANR.

FR | EN

Le pont Notre-Dame et la boutique de Gersaint vers 1720

Comme la plupart des ponts de l’ancien Paris, le pont Pont Notre-Dame présentait jusqu’à la fin de l’Ancien Régime un aspect bien différent de celui d’aujourd’hui. Il était bordé, depuis le début du 16e siècle, d’un ensemble homogène de 64 maisons dédiées au commerce de marchandises. Grand axe urbanistique reliant le quai de Gesvres à l’Ile de la Cité, le Pont Notre Dame était un lieu animé et très fréquenté dont l’importance dans l’histoire du commerce de l’art mérite une attention soutenue.

Une première application a été réalisée à partir de la base de données produite par Mickaël Szanto. Elle a été conçue afin de visualiser l’emplacement des marchands liés au commerce de tableaux depuis le début du 17e siècle jusqu’à la démolition des maisons en 1786. Une représentation graphique simplifiée, associée à une timeline, permet de suivre l’évolution de la représentativité de ce type de marchands par rapport à l’ensemble des commerces du pont. Elle permet de dégager des temps forts et des temps faibles dans la concentration des marchands de tableaux reflétant les mutations profondes du marché parisien.

Une autre approche fondée sur l’image de synthèse photo réaliste permet de proposer une restitution de l’aspect du pont vers 1720, à partir du croisement de nombreuses sources iconographiques et archivistiques. Ce travail de modélisation a consisté à redonner un sens aux espaces, aux matériaux et aux volumes de cette architecture disparue. Plus particulièrement, la vue intérieure du pont a nécessité une patiente et rigoureuse mise à l’épreuve des sources afin de restituer l’impression de rue commerçante donnée par les deux rangées de maisons uniformes masquant la vue sur la Seine. Le choix de la date, 1720, se justifie pour deux raisons. D’une part, c’est sous la Régence que le nombre de marchands tableaux installés sur le pont connut son apogée. D’autre part, c’est précisément cette année-là qu’Antoine Watteau peignit la fameuse Enseigne de Gersaint (Aujourd’hui à Berlin, Schloß Charlottenburg).

Établi dans la 35e maison du Pont Notre-Dame de 1718 à 1744, Edme-François Gersaint était encore un jeune marchand mercier en 1720 qui n’allait pas tarder à devenir le marchand de tableaux le plus innovant de son temps. Mais à quoi ressemblait l’espace d’exposition et de vente de sa boutique au moment où Watteau peignit l’Enseigne ? Contrairement à l’image idéalisée véhiculée par cette peinture atypique, les documents d’archives font apparaître l’idée d’un espace exigu (12m2 de superficie), sombre et surencombré de marchandises. Afin de prendre la mesure de ce décalage, une reconstitution en images de synthèse s’est imposée. Cette proposition de restitution se fonde principalement sur l’inventaire notarié de la boutique dressé en 1725 après le décès de la première épouse de Gersaint. Elle donne l’occasion d’envisager de nouvelles hypothèses concernant l’emplacement et la fonction d’enseigne de ce tableau et de mieux apprécier son caractère unique et visionnaire.